• Sunrisers

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy final live on Sky Sports

The Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy final will be shown live on Sky Sports on Sunday September 27. The final will be hosted at Edgbaston.

The special-edition tournament will see the eight regional teams in the new women's domestic structure split into two groups, with the two respective group-winners progressing to the final.

The 24 England Women's players who have been preparing for the international series against West Indies will be available for the first two rounds, while those players not selected for the final squad will also be available for the final round of group matches and the final itself. The Centrally Contracted England Women's players have been allocated for this year's tournament.

All eight teams will be live-streaming their home group matches on their respective websites throughout the competition.

ECB Managing Director of Women's Cricket, Clare Connor, said: "We're delighted that Sky have chosen to show the final of this special-edition Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy. They have for a long time been excellent partners and champions of the women's game and we're hugely grateful to them for their continued support.

“Edgbaston is a brilliant venue for the final, with a great track record of hosting domestic finals. It’s also a great fit for this summer because of Rachael’s links to the West Midlands.

"The impacts of COVID-19 have demonstrated just how vital it is to have a sustainable and competitive domestic structure that gives our domestic women's cricketers the chance to make a living from the game and also raises the standard of women's cricket in England and Wales.

"I think it's important to thank the eight Regional Directors of Women's Cricket, their Chief Executives and their wider staff, for their efforts in getting us to this point.

"We're proud of the work we've done to protect the momentum of the women's game across this challenging period. We're looking forward to 2021 when the eight regional teams will hopefully be playing even more cricket throughout the summer, along with the important addition of the profile opportunity of The Hundred."

EW Allocated Players

Northern Diamonds: Brunt, Sciver, Winfield, L Smith*

Thunder: Cross, Ecclestone, Lamb*

Central Sparks: Jones, Glenn, Wong*

Western Storm: Knight, Shrubsole, George

Southern Vipers: Wyatt, Elwiss, Bell*

South East Stars: Davies, Davidson-Richards*, B Smith*, Dunkley*

Sunrisers: Wilson, Villiers

Lightning: Beaumont, Gordon

*With the current England Women's group, but selected by the Regional Teams and not centrally allocated

37 views0 comments