• Sunrisers


Sunrisers can today announce the makeup of their squad, competing in the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy. With players drawn from across the London & East region, as well as through local partnerships, the 17 players who will wear the Sunrisers shirt represent the best talent in the area.

The Sunrisers will be captained by Amara Carr. The Middlesex wicket keeper batter, is one of three players who have previously signed retainer contracts with Sunrisers. Naomi Dattani will perform the role of vice captain for the competition. Amara, Naomi, and their fellow retainer contracted player, Cordelia Griffith, will be joined by 12 players all on contracts for the duration of the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy.

In addition England Centrally Contracted players, Mady Villiers of Essex, and Fran Wilson, of Kent and formerly of Middlesex, will be with the squad for the first two rounds of matches.

Speaking of the squad, Danni Warren, Sunrisers Regional Director of Women’s Cricket said:

“We have been through a comprehensive, and collaborative, selection process, resulting in this young and exciting squad. It is so heartening to see almost all of our regional partner counties represented in some way by a player in this squad, either having come through their age group pathway or having pulled on their senior shirt.

It is so important that we can showcase the opportunities for young players to aspire to and this group of players does exactly that. They are a great group with a lot of talent, I cannot wait to see them perform on the elite domestic stage.”

Speaking of the squad, Sunrisers Head Coach Trevor Griffin said:

“This weekend sees the start of the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy, and marks the beginning of a landmark era for Women’s cricket. Our brand new Sunrisers squad has been created from scratch over the last few weeks and has lots of really exciting, talented young cricketers from all parts of our region – everyone involved has worked incredibly hard to get to where we are now, and this is just the beginning for us.

I’m proud of how far we’ve come already both off the field and in training, now it’s time to play some competitive, positive and skillful cricket, I can’t wait to get going and take the next step on the journey with this group and help them grow and develop as people and players.”

Sunrisers 2020 Squad

Player Name County

Amara Carr Middlesex

Hayley Brown Northamptonshire

Kelly Castle Essex

Naomi Dattani Middlesex

Jo Gardner Warwickshire

Gayatri Gole Middlesex

Cordelia Griffith Middlesex

Scarlett Hughes Essex

Lissy Macleod Berkshire

Katie Midwood Essex

Sonali Patel Middlesex

Mia Rogers Berkshire

Grace Scrivens Kent

Emily Thorpe Middlesex

Mady Villiers Essex

Fran Wilson Kent

Katie Wolfe Middlesex

Sunrisers will kick off their Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy campaign on Saturday 29th August, welcoming the Southern Vipers to Essex’s cloudfm County Ground.

The game can be followed across all of the Sunrisers social platforms, as well as there being a live stream available to follow every ball.

578 views0 comments