top of page


Sunrisers are today delighted to confirm the First Team playing squad ahead of the 2024 season.

Congratulations to Charley Phillips who has been awarded her first professional contract, with the young seamer impressing throughout her time with the club in the Academy, and over the winter whilst training with the first team squad.

The eleven full time professionals, who were all with the club last season, have been put through their paces over the winter both at home and abroad, with mood high in camp off the back of a superb finish to the 2023 campaign.

Grace Scrivens, who has spent the winter in Australia, New Zealand, and India, will captain Sunrisers in the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy. She took over as interim captain at the end of last season, guided the side to four consecutive victories, and takes the reigns permanently for the summer ahead.

In February we confirmed that Dané van Niekerk would return to the club at the start of the Charlotte Edwards Cup T20 competition in May, and she will assume the T20 captaincy role that she took over at the end of last year’s campaign.

First-team regular Kate Coppack again picks up a Pay As You Play contract, though has increased her hours training with the squad. Lissy Macleod is also awarded a PAYP contract as she, like Coppack, continues to balance cricket alongside their working professions.

Amu Surenkumar and Esmae MacGregor, who both made their debuts last summer, have been awarded their second contracts, whilst Jess Olorenshaw is looking to have an impact after an injury-hit 2023 campaign. They, along with Katherine Speed, will continue to represent Sunrisers alongside their academic studies.

Sunrisers Head Coach Andy Tennant said: “We are pleased to have retained the core group of players who helped us establish Sunrisers as a competitive force in 2023.

We are also pleased to welcome another Academy graduate Charley Phillips to the fold. Charley is an exciting young pace bowling talent, who brings a point of difference to the group, and we are excited to help her continue her development with the first team squad.

Grace Scrivens will also continue as captain for the RHFT campaign, with Dané van Niekerk joining us for the CEC campaign as captain.”

The 2024 season gets underway on Saturday 20 April, when we make the trip to Cardiff to face Western Storm, with our first home fixture a week later – against Blaze at Chelmsford. Tickets to all our fixtures are on sale here.

2024 First Team squad

17. Amara Carr

7. Kelly Castle

11. Kate Coppack (PAYP)

83. Ariana Dowse

14. Jo Gardner

10. Eva Gray

9. Jodi Grewcock

6. Cordelia Griffith

88. Esmae MacGregor (PAYP)

44. Lissy Macleod (PAYP)

18. Abtaha Maqsood

4. Flo Miller

12. Jess Olorenshaw (PAYP)

19. Charley Phillips (PAYP)

29. Grace Scrivens – 50 over captain

22. Katherine Speed (PAYP)

64. Amu Surenkumar (PAYP)

81. Dané van Niekerk – available from 9th May onwards, T20 captain

26. Mady Villiers


bottom of page